The pagoda was built by King Kue Na in A.D. 1373 in order to enshrine the Buddha relic brought from Sukhoihai by Ven Sumana Thera; it is about 48 meters high and built in a bell-shaped form showing a mix of Sri Lankan and Sukhothai arts.
Besides, the pagoda has the stairway at its four sides. Since its construction up until now (A.D. 2008) it had undergone several restorations.
Among them, the most important ones were led by Kruba Sri Vichai in A.D. 1931 by Phrakru Sugandhtsil (Luang Poo Kamsaen) in A.D. 1946, and by Ven. Phra Amaravethi, an abbot and Asst. Prof. Ketsuda Chatuthai in A.D. 2003 – 2006. In particular, the last restoration included the gilding of pagoda.