Wat Lok Molee, Amphoe Muang. An old and significant site, there is no record of the temple’s founding date, but its name first appeared in historical texts in 1367.
The sixth Lanna King of the Mengrai Dynasty invited a group of 10 monks from Burma to bring their study and practice of Buddhism to his kingdom (present day Northern Thailand). The monks stayed at this temple.
Phra Kaew Maung ordered a chedi built in 1527 and the main hall built in 1545. The temple houses the ashes of members of the royal Mengrai Dynasty, and was maintained by the royal family until the end of the dynasty.