Wat Lam Chang is located at 32 Moonmuang Road. Lane 7, Tambon Sriphum, Amphoe Muang, Chiang Mai. From 1292 A.D. until 1296 A.D. Phaya Mung Rai, the king of the Lanna Kingdom, founded the City of Chiang Mai.
While the City of Chiang Mai was under construction Phaya Mung Rai resided temporarily at what is now the site of Wat Chiang Mun (earlier referred to as Wiang Lek or Wiang Chiang Mun) Phaya Mung Rai invited Phaya Ruang or Khun Ramkamhang, the Great the king of the Sukothai Kingdom, and Phaya Ngum Μuang, the king of Phayao or Phu Kam Yao Kingdom, to consult with him regarding the city’s development.
When the planned development was completed, this city was given the name “Nopburi Sri Nakorn Ping Chiang Mai.”
At this time, there was a small wooded area and a pond on the eastside of Wiang Lek that became known as the elephant feeding grounds and thus obtained the name “Wiang Chiang Chang.” It should be understood that elephants feeding in this area were the elephants that were used to transport the three kings and their subordinates.
Later a temple was built at this site and it took on the name, “Wat Lam Chang” which roughly translated means “Temple of the Tethered Elephants.” There fore the elephant statue was constructed at the Wat Lam Chang in order to be the symbol of the temple.