The road was built during 1892-1900 by the order of King Rama V, starting from Ong Ang Canal to end at Wat Traimit Witthayaram with a total distance of 1,532 meters.
The name Yaowarat meaning the young King was referred to King Rama V who had the throne ascendency since he was only 15 years old. The road was later on known as Chaina Town of Thailand due to the area all along both sides were the shops and residences of the Thai Chinese.
It was Chinese’s biggest living quarter of Thailand in the past, Yaowarat was the first road where the country’s tallest buildings were situated, called seven -storeyed and nine-storeyed buildings on both sides of the road, there were many famous Chinese restaurants, Chaloem Buri cinema the most modern one in that decade, many reliable gold shops as well as hundred of shops of selling both fresh and preserved merchandises used for Chinese food cooking.
At present, Yaowarat’s significance is not fading. It’s still one of the country’s most bustling commercial and delicious food districts.