Wat Phra That Doi Suthep was built in 1929 by the sixth King Phaya Kue Na of Lanna Kingdom, Meng Rai Dynasty. He respectfully engaged the Lord Buddha’s relics that he kept in his shrine for 13 years to the pagoda of Wat Phra That Doi Suthep. He took the relics on the back of the elephant and prayed for the sacred place.
The elephant walked to the sacred Doi Suthep mountain and showed the significance that this is the most suitable place to keep the sacred relics by acclaiming and walking round for three times.
The king ordered to dig the hole and built the stone platform in the big hole and enshrined the relics down then filled with stones and created 5 meters high pagoda on the cover. Therefore, the ritual of not wearing shoes in the area and no women allowed is applied in order to worship and pay respect to the relics.
In 1538, King Muang Ket Klao, the 12th King of Lanna, renovated the pagoda by expanding the size of pagoda to be 11-feet wide and 6-meters high and put a golden lotus on the pinnacle. Later, his son, Chao Tao Kham Yot, has the gold plate to put round the pagoda.
In the year 1557, Pra Maha Yanmomgkol, the monk from Asoka Ram of Lamphun has established the Naga staircase up to the pagoda. Moreover, Kruba Siwichai with the respectful villagers built the 11.53 mile-road uphill to the place where the temple located which in order to be easier to the public to go worship the relics.
On the way up to Wat Phra That Doi Suthep the most sacred monument of Kruba Siwichai was established as another place for the people to worship. Moreover, visitors is able to relax at the beautiful 9-step natural waterfall of Montatarn as well as another sacred temple, Wat Palard, which is the first stop of the secred elephant while took the journey of sacred relics of the legendary inventor of the Wat Phra That Doi Suthep.
Ther scenery and beautiful view of the city from a high vantage point is available before take the journey up to Wat Phra That Doi Suthep.